With Suryakumar’s return, MI eyes first win against RR

Mumbai, April 1 : With the return of flamboyant Suryakumar Yadav, Mumbai Indians will look to register their first win of this IPL season when they lock horns against Rajasthan Royals in Match-9 of Tata IPL at Dr DY Patil Stadium here on Saturday. Mumbai are coming into the match after a defeat in their opening match against Delhi Capitals, where Ishan Kishan and Rohit Sharma scored 81 runs and 41 runs, respectively. On the flipside, Rajasthan has a resounding victory behind them by defeating Sunrisers Hyderabad by 61 runs. The return of Suryakumar will boost Mumbai’s batting, and expectedly, one among Anmolpreet Singh, Tilak Verma and Tim David would give way to him. Skipper Rohit Sharma’s boys will not have it easy while facing the likes of Trent Boult. However, Mumbai will try to draw inspiration from the only match they played at this stadium against Rajasthan where they bowled them out for a meagre 103 and chased down the target with 29 balls to spare and 7 wickets in hand. In the 25 meetings between the two sides, Mumbai lead 13-11 against Rajasthan in the head-to-head encounters so far in IPL history. However, Rajasthan are currently at the top of the points table on account of their excellent net run rate and Mumbai are 9th position. Kieron Pollard, renowned for power-hitting, will be looking to breathe fire against Rajasthan after having lost his wicket cheaply against Delhi. Mumbai bowlers are up for a contest with the glittering batting lineup of Rajasthan, after they failed to defend 177 in the last match. Jasprit Bumrah will be looking for support from his co-bowlers like Basil Thampi and Daniel Sams. Murugan Ashwin would also like to give breakthroughs and dry the runs for Rajasthan as he did against Delhi. For Rajasthan, the responsibility lies with skipper Sanju Samson to give a fight after his superb 55 in his team’s opener. Rajasthan openers Yashashvi Jaiswal and Jos Buttler would like to make a huge difference which they could not so far. They got good starts, but did not prolong. Devdutt Padikkal and Shimron Hetmyer would hope to continue their good form. In the bowling department, Rajasthan’s Prasidh Krishna Boult and spinners Ravichandran Ashwin and Yuzvendra Chahal, would like to be among wickets. Teams (from): Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Anmolpreet Singh, Rahul Buddhi, Ramandeep Singh, SuryakumarYadav, Tilak Verma, Tim David, Arjun Tendulkar, Basil Thampi, Hrithik Shokeen, Jasprit Bumrah, Jaydev Unadkat, Jofra Archer, Mayank Markande, Murugan Ashwin, Riley Meredith, Tymal Mills, Arshad Khan, Daniel Sams, Dewald Brevis, Fabian Allen, Kieron Pollard, Sanjay Yadav, Aryan Juyal and Ishan Kishan. Rajasthan Royals: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Riyan Parag, Shubham Garwal, Dhruv Jurel, Kuldip Yadav, Kuldeep Sen, Tejas Baroka, Anunay Singh, KC Kariappa, Sanju Samson, Jos Buttler, Rassie Van der Dussen, Nathan Coulter Nile, Jimmy Neesham, Daryl Mitchell, Karun Nair, Obed McCoy, Navdeep Saini, Ravichandran Ashwin, Trent Boult, Shimron Hetmyer, Devdutt Padikkal, Prasidh Krishna, Yuzvendra Chahal. Match starts at 3.30 PM. BDN SHK1932

Leave a Comment