India elect to bowl vs NZ, Shafali dropped

Hamilton, March 10 : India have won the toss and elected to bowl against hosts New Zealand in the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup match at the Seddon Park here on Thursday. Yastika Bhatia replaced Shafali Verma in the Indian line-up, while New Zealand are unchanged from their previous match against Bangladesh. “Looks a good wicket and later on, there could be dew which will make batting easier. Also we depend a lot on spinners, so better to bowl first,” said Mithali Raj, India skipper, after the toss. New Zealand skipper Sophi Devine said, “We would have batted first anyway. We did play India well in the recent series, we were able to put together complete performances and that’s something we’ve been speaking about for a while. It’s now about replicating it today”. Playing XIs: India- Yastika Bhatia, Smriti Mandhana, Deepti Sharma, Mithali Raj (c), Harmanpreet Kaur, Richa Ghosh (wk), Sneh Rana, Pooja Vastrakar, Jhulan Goswami, Meghna Singh, Rajeshwari Gayakwad. New Zealand- Suzie Bates, Sophie Devine (c), Amelia Kerr, Amy Satterthwaite, Mady Green, Katey Martin (wk), Frances Mackay, Hayley Jensen, Lea Tahuhu, Jess Kerr, Hannah Row.

Leave a Comment