Yogi resigns, gears up to form govt for second term

Lucknow, March 11 : Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath on Friday handed over his resignation to Governor Anandiben Patel at Raj Bhawan and with this the tenure of the government ended. Yogi will continue as the caretaker CM till the new government is formed. It is being speculated that he may take oath before Holi on March 18. Earlier in the day the CM held the last cabinet meeting at his official residence. According to the official sources during the meeting gratitude was expressed towards the public for its support and blessings in just concluded UP Assembly elections. The cabinet also expressed gratitude towards Prime Minister Narendra Modi for his leadership and guidance. The cabinet also expressed gratitude towards the Election Commission and all officials, employees, personnel of central forces and the state police for safe and smooth conduct of the assembly polls. A proposal was passed in the meeting in which it was stated that the people of UP have not only paved way for the formation of the government by expressing faith in the policies of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and gave thumping majority, it also gave a message to the other political parties that other than development and good governance there is no space hollow slogans, casteism and dynasty politics in the state. BJP formed the government on March 19, 2017 with the resolve of security, good governance, development and empowerment of the poor. Adopting Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s mantra of ‘Sabka Saath, Sabka Vikas’ the state government make all efforts to take benefits of its schemes to the beneficiaries without any discrimination and a positive change has come in UP due to these efforts. After this the CM went to the Raj Bhawan where he was welcomed by Governor Anandiben Patel. She greeted him with a bouquet and a shawl. Later, Yogi handed over the proposal passed by the cabinet to the Governor. It may be noted that BJP along with its allies has swept the assembly polls winning 273 out of 403 seats. While BJP won 255 its allies A a Dal (S) won 12 and Nishad Party 6. The main opponent Samajwadi Party (SP) and its allies won 125 seats, whereas Congress won on only two seats and Bahujan Samaj Party 1. AB SHK

Leave a Comment