Table-toppers RR to face GT

Mumbai, April 13 : The 2022 Indian Premier League (IPL) table-toppers Rajasthan Royals (RR) will look to maintain their position when they lock horns with Gujarat Titans (GT) here at DY Patil Stadium on Thursday. While Sanju Samson’s Rajasthan have three wins and one loss to their name, the Hardik Pandya-led Gujarat too have similar number of wins and are placed at fourth spot in the standings. In their previous outing, RR defeated Lucknow Super Giants by three runs. GT, however, suffered an eight-wicket defeat at the hands of Sunrisers Hyderabad. There are not many concerns in the batting department for Rajasthan as Jos Buttler has looked in solid touch right from the start of the tournament and will be keen to carry his form. Samson and Shimron Hetmyer also have showcased an impressive exhibitions so far. In the bowling department, the trio of Trent Boult, Prasidh Krishna and Yuzvendra Chahal are in the fine form. Chahal has scalped 11 wickets, the most in the tournament, for the his side followed by Boult with 7 wickets in four games. Ashwin, who has only one wicket to his credit in four outings, will have to return with much better numbers apart from being an economical bowler. On the other hand, Shubman Gill has been batting in a different class for Gujarat, making heaps of runs that too quickly. Mathew Wade can still be backed for an improved show in the upcoming fixture. The trio of Mohammed Shami, Lockie Ferguson and Rashid Khan have taken it upon themselves to be the leaders in bowling department. Each one has done it in one of the games. And skipper Pandya has been on point, taking more responsibility as a batter and bowling his full quota of overs. Squads (from): Rajasthan Royals: Jos Buttler, Devdutt Padikkal, Sanju Samson (wk/c), Rassie van der Dussen, Shimron Hetmyer, Ravichandran Ashwin, Riyan Parag, Trent Boult, Kuldeep Sen, Prasidh Krishna, Yuzvendra Chahal, James Neesham, Navdeep Saini, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Karun Nair, KC Cariappa, Daryl Mitchell, Obed McCoy, Tejas Baroka, Kuldip Yadav, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Anunay Singh, Dhruv Jurel, Shubham Garhwal Gujarat Titans: Matthew Wade (wk), Shubman Gill, Sai Sudharsan, Hardik Pandya (c), David Miller, Abhinav Manohar, Rahul Tewatia, Rashid Khan, Lockie Ferguson, Mohammed Shami, Darshan Nalkande, Wriddhiman Saha, Pradeep Sangwan, Varun Aaron, Jayant Yadav, Vijay Shankar, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Alzarri Joseph, Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Dominic Drakes, Yash Dayal, Noor Ahmad BAV

Leave a Comment