Counting begins of 24 Council seats in Bihar

Patna, April 7 : Amid tight security arrangements, counting of votes of 24 seats of Bihar Legislative Council from local bodies quota began at 8 AM on Thursday. Chief Electoral Officer H R Srinivas said that fool proof security arrangements had been made at counting centres. Besides government officials and employees deputed for counting, only those carrying duly issued permits would be allowed to enter counting centres, he added. Arrangements of 14 tables has been made at each counting centres across the state. Trained government officials and employees have been deployed for counting of votes. Counting is in progress in 24 district headquarters amid tight security arrangements. Counting is being held on the basis of preference votes. Counting of votes is in progress as per procedure set for Council elections from local bodies quota. A total of 187 candidates are in fray for 24 seats while 98 percent of 1,34,106 voters have sealed their votes on Monday during the polling. NDA has fielded its candidates on all 24 seats. BJP has fielded 12, JD(U)-11 and LJP of Paras faction has fielded candidate on one seat. Similarly, RJD has fielded its candidates on 23 seats and left one seat for CPI. Congress has fielded candidates on 16 of 24 seats. KKS BM

Leave a Comment