Sunday , 9 May 2021
Breaking News

Consistency despite expectations helps Dhoni edge out Rohit Sharma: Pietersen

NEW DELHI: Former England and Royal Challengers Bangalore batsman Kevin Pietersen said that he feels MS Dhoni would marginally beat Rohit Sharma to the greatest Indian Premier League (IPL) captain of all time title.

Pietersen, who was part of the selection panel for Star Sports’ new show the Greatest Of All Time (GOAT), said that Chennai Super Kings‘ consistency under Dhoni despite the expectations on the team every season is what stands out.

“His relationship with (Stephen) Fleming, the consistency at the franchise and the wicket they play on; so it would be hard to go against MS and he will probably get my vote.”

Rohit Sharma’s Mumbai Indians and MS Dhoni’s CSK are two of the most successful teams in the 11-year history of the IPL. MI have won four titles which is the most for any team while CSK are second with three. All seven titles have been won under the captaincies of Rohit and Dhoni.

“I like what Rohit Sharma does and I love the Mumbai Indians and their approach to the game. However, for consistency and weight of expectation down there in Chennai MS is my guy,” said Pietersen.

Former New Zealand fast bowler and commentator Danny Morrison also rated Dhoni higher than Rohit in terms of the greatest IPL captain of all time.

While Morrison conceded that it was hard to pick one of the two, the sheer aura that comes with Dhoni in the dressing room and on the pitch puts him above Rohit.
“Looking at the vibe and the inspiration of that fellow (MS Dhoni) in yellow and what he did for India in blue and that helicopter shot which changes the course of the game… yes he is a lot older and finishing up (and) Rohit’s got more time. But for me Dhoni takes the pressure like no one else,” said Morrison.
Virat Kohli was voted the IPL’s greatest Indian batsman for being the highest scorer in the history of the tournament with 5412 runs in 177 matches at an average of 37.84. In the coach’s category, the calm and composed Stephen Fleming (Chennai Super Kings) emerged the winner as he pipped Trevor Bayliss of KKR by a small margin.
Meanwhile, AB de Villiers emerged as the GOAT in the batsmen category and Lasith Malinga took away the title in the bowlers category. Shane Watson, one of CSK’s vital cogs in the wheel, won the battle among the all-rounders.
Source : timesofindia