Satrughan Sinha, Babul Supriyo file nominations for Bengal by-polls

Kolkata, Mar 21 : Former on minister Babul Supriyo and actor turned politician Satrughan Sinha on Monday filed their nomination papers as the Trinamool Congress candidates for West Bengal’s Asansol Lok Sabha seat and Ballygunge assembly constituency’s by-poll, scheduled for April 12. Sinha, accompanied by his followers and TMC leaders, filed his nomination papers for the Asansol parliament seat, which fell vacant after singer turned politician Babul Supriyo quit his old party BJP as well as his seat and sought the allegiance with Mamata Banerjee Trinamool Congress. Babul Supriyo, who won back to back 2014 and 2019, quit the part after he was dropped from the ministry on his second term. Babul Supriyo submitted his nomination as the Trinamool nominee for the Ballygunge assembly seat, at the Survey Building at Alipur. Babul said West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee had sent him well wishes before filing nomination papers. He said that he feels lucky for being nominated on the seat which earlier was represented by veteran minister Subrata Mukherjee who died on November 4. “We are chalking out a strategy to campaign and will also go to Asansol to campaign for Satrughan Sinha,” Babul said. PC RN

Leave a Comment