NPP extends support to BJP-led Manipur government

Imphal, March 23 : The National People’s Party (NPP), with seven legislators, on Wednesday decided to extend support to the BJP led government in Manipur. A letter of support was given to Governor La Ganesan during the day. The letter said, “We the members of the National People’s Party (NPP) to the 12° Manipur Legislative Assembly would like to extend support to the Bharatiya Janata Party-led government in the State as an alliance partner of NEDA and NDA.” N. Kayisii, NPP Legislature Party Leader, Khuraijam Loken Singh, Irengbam Nalini Devi, Thongam Shanti Singh, Mayanglambam Rameshwar Singh, Janghemlung Panmei and Sheikh Noorul Hassan signed the letter. The BJP with 32 members already had the backing of JD(U), which has six MLAs NPF (five MLAs), two KNA members and an Independent. With the inclusion of NPP in the government 53 members were in the ruling group while five Congress members and two Independents were in the Opposition. BJP and NPP were the main allies of the first BJP led government in Manipur. All the four NPP MLAs were given ministerial berths including of Deputy Chief Minister. Relations soured in the run-up to the elections between the two parties and N Biren openly declared that the BJP will not form any post-poll alliance with NPP. A team of NPP MLAs had a discussion with Chief Minister N Biren on Tuesday. NS SSP

Leave a Comment