Dhami to be Uttarakhand CM again

Dehradun, March 21 : Pushkar Singh Dhami was elected as the leader of BJP’s legislature party in Uttarakhand, and will continue as the chief minister of the state. Defence Minister and senior BJP leader Rajnath Singh, who is the central observer sent by the party to oversee the procedure of election of a legislative party leader, said Dhami was chosen with full consensus. A meeting was held by BJP President JP Nadda and Home Minister Amit Shah with party leaders including Dhami, former chief minister Trivendra Singh Rawat, state party chief Madan Kaushik and others. Dhami, who was the Uttarakhand CM when the state went to polls, lost his seat Khatima to Congress candidate Bhuwan Kapri. Several MLAs have supported Dhami to be picked as the chief minister again, and also offered to resign from their seats to enable him to fight and win. Several party MLAs have offered to give up their seats for Dhami to contest. BJP retained power in Uttarakhand winning 47 seats, getting around 44 percent of the vote share. The Congress got around 37 percent votes, and won 19 seats. In 2017, Congress had won 11 seats, and got around 33 percent votes while BJP’s vote share was around 46 percent in 2017. AO SHK1800

Leave a Comment