Covid-hit DC to play RCB

Mumbai, April 15 : Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) will be hoping to return to winning ways when they meet Delhi Capitals (DC), who have been hit by Covid-19, in an IPL match at the Wankhede Stadium on Saturday. Delhi Capitals’ physio Patrick Farhart tested positive for Covid-19 on the eve of the match. He is being closely monitored by the DC Medical Team. Coming on the back of a convincing win against Kolkata Knight Riders, DC are well-oiled thanks to batters David Warner and Prithvi Shaw, and bowlers Kuldeep Yadav and Khaleel Ahmed. Warner and Shaw’s explosive start against KKR set the foundation for DC in their last outing. The presence of skipper Rishabh Pant in the middle and the likes of Shardul Thakur and Axar Patel in the lower order makes DC batting look formidable. Left-arm spinner Kuldeep is the second highest wicket-taker in the tournament with 10 wickets so far, while left-arm pacer Khaleel has seven wickets to his name. Shardul, too, has made himself a favourite candidate in the bowling attack department. After three consecutive victories, Royal Challengers Bangalore suffered a 23-run defeat at the hands of Chennai Super Kings. The batting t needs skipper Faf du Plessis and Anuj Rawat to provide a brisk start which they couldn’t against CSK. Although Virat Kohli has been among the runs, his lack of consistency is hurting the middle-order, which heavily depends on Dinesh Karthik. With Harshal Patel likely to be available for selection, RCB’s bowling t will be bolstered as the pacer provides variations and is an able bowler in the death overs. Wanindu Hasaranga, too, has become vital cog for RCB in no time. Squads (from): Delhi Capitals: Rishabh Pant (c), Khaleel Ahmed, Ashwin Hebbar, Srikar Bharat, Yash Dhull, Praveen Dubey, Sarfaraz Khan, Kuldeep Yadav, Lalit Yadav, Mandeep Singh, Mitchell Marsh, Mustafizur Rahman, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Vicky Ostwal, Ripal Patel, Axar Patel, Rovman Powell, Chetan Sakariya, Tim Seifert, Prithvi Shaw, Shardul Thakur, David Warner. Royal Challengers Bangalore: Faf du Plessis (c), Akash Deep, Finn Allen, Anuj Rawat, Jason Behrendorff, Wanindu Hasaranga, Aneeshwar Gautam, Josh Hazlewood, Dinesh Karthik, Siddarth Kaul, Virat Kohli, Mahipal Lomror, Glenn Maxwell, Chama Milind, Mohammed Siraj, Harshal Patel, Rajat Patidar, Suyash Prabhudessai, Sherfane Rutherford, Shahbaz Ahmed, Karn Sharma, David Willey.

Leave a Comment