BJP now single largest party in Manipur, says will lead coalition Govt

Imphal, Mar 10 : The ruling BJP seemed on track to emerge as the single largest party comfortably and was close to an absolute majority in Manipur assembly polls, which saw some of the regional parties come up with good performances and the Congress fair dismally in the vote count on Thursday. Only five results have been declared so far, and the Janata Dal ( ted) has won three seats and the BJP two. The BJP was leading in 25 other seats, as victory celebrations started at its headquarters with Chief Minister N Biren Singh averring that the party was likely to lead a coalition government. in the 60-member House. In an interaction with mediapersons after collecting his victory certificate from Heingang constituency, Biren ruled out taking back the National People’s Party (NPP) in the coalition but indicated the Naga People’s Front (NPF) would be part of the coalition. “I don’t think NPP will be with us. But as for NPF, we are not going to harm the coalition dharma,” he said. Earlier, he had said that even if his party wins a majority, it would form a coalition government as the BJP central leadership was in favour of “keeping the friendly parties along with us”. As per the results trend, The NPP was ahead in nine seats, and the NPF in five. Observers feel the JD(U), which is part of the coalition government with the BJP in Bihar, could also be included in the government in the northeastern state. Apart from bagging three eats, it was leading in one. The Congress, which had finished as the single largest party in 2017 by bagging 28 seats, was ahead in only nine. Other parties and independents were leading in the remaining six seats. Dr.Usham Deben Singh of Bharatiya Janata Party seized the Wabagai seat by defeating the sitting Congress legislator Fajur Rahim, while JD(U)’s Ngursanglur Sanate emerged victorious from Tipaimukh, which had also elected the Congress last time. Chief Minister N Biren, who won with a huge 18671 margin over P Saratchandra of Congress, offered prayers at the Govindajee temple here with party leader Sambit Patra, and hoped that the BJP would get 30 pus seats. Janata Dal ( ted) candidates also won from Jiribam and Thangmeiband. JD(U) nominee and heavyweight in state politics Khumukcham Joykisan Singh defeated Jotin Waikhom of Bharatiya Janata Party by 3773 votes in Thangmeiband seat BJP strongman, Thokchom Radheshyam was ahead at Heirok while state Congress President N Loken was trailing his BJP opponent Basanta Singh at Nambol. Former Congress President Gaikhangam Gangme was also trailing BJP’s Dinganglung Gangmei at Nungba . Former Chief Minister and Congress candidate Okram Ibobi Singh has amassed an emphatic lead at Thoubal. However, Ibobi’s son Okram Joy Singh was now running behind his BJP rival Karam Shyam in Langthabal. Two women candidates of BJP were in the lead. While former minister Nemcha Kipgen has established a comfortable lead at Kangpokpi, SS Olish was the frontirunenr at Chandel. On the other hand, Agriculture Minister O Lukhoi of the BJP was lagging behind NPP candidate Loken at Wangoi. The BJP, which targeted an abosoult majoirty of its own, put up candidates in all the seats after leading a coalition government for five years. However, the opposition Congress stitched together an alliance with the Left parties and the Janata Dal (Secular). In the 2017 Assembly Elections, the Congress had won 28, and the BJP 21, with the NPF and the NPP bagging four seats each. Lok Jan Shakti Party. All India Trinamool Congress and Independents had curved out victories in one seat each. NS SSP BM

Leave a Comment