T20 World Cup: England defeats Pak by 5 wickets

Melbourne : England defeated Pakistan by five wickets in the final of the ICC T20 World Cup. England has won the T20 World Cup title for the second time.

T20 World Cup
T20 World Cup

Star all-rounder Ben Stokes was the hero of England’s victory in the final match. The Pakistan team after losing the toss batted first and set a target of 137 runs for eight wickets in 20 overs. Batsman Shan Masood scored the highest 38 runs for Pakistan. Captain Babar contributed 32 runs, Shadab Khan 20 runs and Mohammad Rizwan contributed 15 runs. No Pakistani batsman could play a big inning.

Sam Curran with three wickets in his pocket took the maximum from the England side, while Adil Rashid and Chris Jordan took two wickets and Ben Stokes took one wicket.

The 138 runs target was achieved by the England team with an unbeaten inning of 52 runs off 49 balls by star all-rounder Ben Stokes. England won the T20 World Cup title for the second time by scoring 138 runs for five wickets in 19 overs.

In 2010, England became T20 champion. Overall this is England’s third World Cup title. In 2019, the England team also became the ODI champion.

Apart from Stokes, captain Jos Buttler contributed 26 runs, Harry Brook 20 runs, Moin Ali 19 runs and Philip Salt contributed 10 runs. Stokes took a wicket with the first bowling, then batting brilliantly, hitting five fours and a six in his innings.

From Pakistan, Haris Rauf took two wickets, Shaheen Afridi, Shadab Khan and Mohammad Wasim took one wicket each.

Check Also

Asian Games 2023: From men’s volleyball to modern pentathlon

It was a mixed day for India at the Asian Games 2023 in Hangzhou, China …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *