Sitaram Yechury re-elected as CPI(M) GS

Kannur, April 10 : Sitaram Yechury has been reelected third time as the General Secretary of the CPI(M) at the 23rd Party Congress which concluded at EK Nayanar Academy Hall at Burnassery here on Sunday. Former Rajya Sabha member Sitaram Yechury was elected as Party General Secretary first time in the 21st Party Congress held at Visakhapatnam in 2015 and and reelected second time in the 22nd Party Congress held at Hyderabad in 2018. The 85 member Central Committee (CC) was constituted with 17 new faces including 15 women. For the first time, a dalit, Ramachandra Dome of West Bengal, was included in the Polit Bureau (PB). Kerala’s Left Democratic Front (LDF) Government (LDF) Convenor A Vijayaraghavan and President of All India Kisan Sabha Ashok Dhawle of Maharashtra also found place in the new PB. Veterans PB members S Ramachandran Pillai, Biman Boss and Hannan Molla were evicted from PB citing that they are above 75 years. AK GNK

Leave a Comment