Rajya Sabha polls for 13 seats on March 31

New Delhi, March 7 : Elections for 13 Rajya Sabha seats will be held on March 31, with several veterans including A K Antony and Anand Sharma of the Congress retiring, the Election Commission said on Monday. It said the seats are spread across six states: Five in Punjab, three in Kerala, two in Assam and one each in Himachal Pradesh, Tripura, and Nagaland. The Rajya Sabha elections are being held as several members like Anand Sharma, Antony, Partap Singh Bajwa, and Naresh Gujral are scheduled to retire. “Of the five seats to be filled from Punjab, three are to be filled by holding one election and other two through another election as these seats belong to two different biennial cycles,” the Election Commission said. According to the poll panel, the notification for the elections will be issued on March 14, the last date for making nominations will be March 21 and the elections will be held on March 31. The counting will be held on March 31 from 5 pm. Antony will resign from Kerala, Anand Sharma from Himachal Pradesh and Pratap Singh Bajwa from Punjab. ASU MR

Leave a Comment