Tuesday , 2 March 2021
Breaking News

Nepal President administers oath to new Governors of all 7 provinces

The newly appointed Governors were administered oath in a special function at Sheetal Niwas, the President House, in Kathmandu on Tuesday.

Mr. Somnath Adhikari ‘Pyasi’ has become Governor of Province 1, Mr. Tilak Pariyar (Province 2), Mr. Bishnu Prasad Prasain (Province 3), Mr. Amik Sherchan (Gandaki Province), Mr. Dharmanath Yadav (Province 5), Mr. Govinda Prasad Kalauni (Karnali Province) and Ms. Sharmila Kumari Pant (Sudur Paschim Province). Vice President Nanda Bahadur Pun, Prime Minister K.P. Sharma Oli and other dignitaries were also present on the occasion.

Earlier, President Bidya Devi Bhandari had relieved Governors of all seven provinces on Sunday.

They were appointed in January 2018 by the outgoing Nepali Congress government after first ever provincial elections in the Himalyan nation.

Nepal adopted federalism after promulgation of new constitution in September 2015.

First time in the history of the country elections for seven provincial assemblies were held in two phases on 26 November and 7 December 2017.

Left Alliance had registered landslide victory in the historic elections.

Download Udaipur Kiran App to read Latest News Today