Thursday , 18 October 2018
Breaking News

Mega by-polls in Bihar, UP underway

In Uttar Pradesh, a total of 22 candidates including BJP, SP and Congress nominees are in contest from Phulpur in Allahabad district and 10 candidates from Gorakhpur seat.

Both the by-polls have been necessitated following resignation of Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath from Gorakhpur seat and Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya from Phulpur Lok Sabha seats after their elections to State Legislative Council.

In Bihar, for the by-poll in Araria Lok Sabha seat, which was necessitated following the death of Mohd Taslimuddin of the RJD, seven candidates are in the fray. The Bhabua assembly seat was vacated after the death of the BJP’s Anand Bhushan Pandey while The bypoll in Jehanabad assembly seat was necessitated following the death of RJD MLA Mundrika Singh Yadav.

The counting of votes will take place on Wednesday.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *